Tags

, , , ,

Alibi

Origin: late 17th century (as an adverb in the sense ‘elsewhere’): from Latin, ‘elsewhere’. The noun use dates from the late 18th century.

The word alibi, which in Latin means ‘elsewhere’, has been used since the 18th century to mean ‘an assertion by a person that he or she was elsewhere’. In the 20th century a new sense arose (originally in the US) with the meaning ‘an excuse’. This use is a fairly common and natural extension of the core meaning, but is still regarded as incorrect by some traditionalists.

 

Elsewhere is where I live and where I travel. Through the gloom and between the moments as I visit places, people and other things. I listen to their dreams, desires and I keep their secrets. And, yes…sometimes I am their excuse.

Here is where I will share my perspective of these experiences, provided doing so will not break a trust.

 

 

 

